Re-Discovering an Author

images (9)

Click here for Amazon link

I’ve had Charles de Lint’s “Waifs and Strays” sitting on my bookshelf for the past eight years. I remember reading one or two of the stories once, years and years ago. They seemed all right, I thought. But I wasn’t really interested enough to keep reading, or to read any of his other work.

Then, today, for no particular reason, I picked the book up again.

And it’s amazing. Absolutely fantastic. Mystical and earthy at the same time, with twists and turns I would never have expected. Fresh takes on old stories, and wonderful new tales where you’d think nothing new could ever grow again.

The lesson, I think, is to hang on to all your books forever.

Leave a Reply

