The Debt We All Owe To Comic Books

mainpage_L_1600x1200Sometimes, I’ll be reading something, and I’ll think “this is really a comic book.”

And then I’ll watch a movie, like 300 or Watchmen, and the images will flash across the screen and I think “this reminds me of a comic book.”

I’m not a big comic reader. I follow one or two series, and that’s it. I occasionally work my way through different Graphic Novel series, like the Sandman. But really, the debt readers and moviegoers owe to comic books goes way beyond superhero movies.

Comic books give us easter eggs, jokes hidden in the background, long-term plotting, gorgeous visuals, and tactile worlds that can be mad, wonderful, and terrifying all at the same time.

The novel I just finished was called “Agatha H and the Airship City.” It was a novelization of three graphic novels. And it was a decent enough book, but when I put it down I picked up the graphic novel, which is SO DAMN FUN. It’s got everything I said above.

Don’t sneer at comics. They’re too much fun.

One thought on “The Debt We All Owe To Comic Books

  1. pulpfictionme says:

    True story! I have only recently got into graphic novels. Really excited for new deadpool! :))

Leave a Reply

