A Cautionary Tale: Never Let Me Go and the perils of watching the movie first

6334

Click for Goodreads

I saw “Never Let Me Go” years back. Can’t remember why. I can remember a few scenes, a few scattered bits and pieces. That’s all.

But it still wrecked the book for me.

I’m not giving the standard complaints here: I didn’t mind that things were spoiled. The art of a great novel is a joy in itself–when reading, a good reveal makes for a fleeting satisfaction, while the crafting is makes for lasting.

It’s just that I couldn’t stop trying to imagine the actresses I remembered from the movie. I couldn’t stop trying to force them into the novel. Couldn’t stop wracking my brains to remember whether this scene occurred in the movie too.

That’s the real reason to read a book first. Because the movie will force itself on the book in a way that just isn’t possible in reverse. Reading a book first enhances the enjoyment of a movie: you see an interpretation different from your own, and you can appreciate the whole thing in a new way. But when you see the movie first, that interpretation has already become “the only one” in your mind. It’s hard to get away from that.

6334

Click for Amazon

One thought on “A Cautionary Tale: Never Let Me Go and the perils of watching the movie first

  1. Bipasha says:

    Last year I read Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go. Though I enjoyed reading it, I must say it left behind a pensive sort of mood long after I had put the book away…
    I did watch the movie a few years ago, but luckily for me, it had completely let my memory 🙂

Leave a Reply

